Independent · not affiliated with SpaceX or StarlinkUS prices checked

News · Hardware prices

Router 4 with Wi-Fi 7 announced; no US price or ship date yet

In September 2026 Starlink announced Router 4, its first Wi-Fi 7 router, rated for up to 3,500 sq ft, 'available soon in select areas'. No price was published, so it changes no cost on this site yet.

  • Hardware prices
  • Source: press report (secondary)
  • Within 90 days
  • Independent, not affiliated with SpaceX
Announced / first reported
Effective
No availability date given; 'available soon in select areas'
Published
Last updated
Status card for Router 4, announced September 2026: Wi-Fi 7, up to 3,500 square feet; US price not announced; ship date not announced.

What changed

On September 9, 2026, Tesla North reported that Starlink had announced Router 4, described by Starlink as “the first Starlink router with a Wi-Fi 7 chipset, built for streaming, gaming, and everyday use.” The announcement claimed indoor coverage of up to 3,500 square feet.

Item Status as of 2026-10-06
US price Not announced
Availability “Available soon in select areas”
Which kits include it Not stated
Sold separately? Not stated

Starlink pointed people to an email sign-up for availability updates, per the report.

Who it affects

For now, no one’s bill. There is nothing to order and no price to compare. This post exists so readers who see the announcement elsewhere know that our cost figures don’t include it yet, and why.

What it does to your cost

Nothing yet. Our calculator and prices page use the current kits only. Router 4 could affect cost in three ways once Starlink publishes details, and we will post again when one of them is confirmed on starlink.com:

  1. A new kit price if Router 4 ships inside the Standard kit and the kit price moves.
  2. A stand-alone price for existing customers who want to upgrade from their current router.
  3. No change if it simply replaces the current router at the same kit price.

Until then, there is no reason to wait or rush on cost grounds. A kit bought today has a known price; Router 4’s doesn’t.

When a price does appear, we will check it on starlink.com for a US address, add it to our data file with the date we read it, and only then publish a follow-up with the year-1 and year-3 effect. An announcement on social media or in an email sign-up form is not enough for us to put a number in the calculator.

What stays the same

  • Standard kit and Mini kit prices.
  • The router included with today’s Standard kit.
  • Plan prices.

What to check yourself

  • If you are about to order, read which router the kit page lists for your address.
  • If coverage is your concern, that is a hardware question this site doesn’t test; for the cost of extra hardware such as mesh units, see the equipment cost guide and the hidden fees guide.

What we don’t know

  • The US price, and whether there will be one stand-alone price or only a kit price.
  • Which kits and plans get Router 4 first, and when.
  • Whether existing customers get any upgrade path. The announcement, as reported, said none of this.

Sources

  1. Starlink unveils Router 4 with Wi-Fi 7 and 3,500 sq ft coverage (Tesla North) · secondary · source dated 2026-09-09 · Retrieved 2026-10-06

Every source above is press coverage. starlink.com renders its plan pages with JavaScript and changes them without an archive, so we could not re-open the original Starlink page for this past change. Treat figures as reported, and check starlink.com for your address.

Corrections

No corrections since publication. Spotted an error? Tell us.

Independent, not affiliated with SpaceX or Starlink. Links to Starlink’s plan pages in this post use the site owner’s own referral link; your price is the same.See the price history, how we verify prices and the corrections log. Published Oct 6, 2026.